Beautiful New Home In Northern California Paradise

Beautiful New Home In Northern California Paradise

Orah

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

December 2005


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

My home was designed by a local architect and built for me less than 2 years ago. It is bright with lots windows. All of the living spaces have hardwood floors. The two bedrooms and the study have wall-to-wall carpeting. The house is very comfortable, convenient, and spacious. It has an open kitchen with modern appliances and a pantry. The kitchen windows look out over a large deck that overlooks a front yard that is bounded by trees. The dining and living areas have a view of an open meadow, trees and the ocean on the horizon. The deck has outdoor furniture and faces south. I also keep a barbeque there. In the good weather I love to eat breakfast and read the newspaper on the deck.

Many of my friends live in the San Francisco Bay Area, three hours drive away. They love to stay with me for weekends

Each of the bedrooms has its own bathroom, mine has a bath and shower, the other has just a shower. My study has a very comfortable day bed and pull out bed beneath it. There is another half bathroom near the study. I have high speed internet connection (cable) and a flat screen TV with cable.

There are many deer in the area so my lovely garden has deer proof plants - lots of lavender!

Property features

Who we are

  1. My name is Orah, I am 68 years old, a retired social worker, still in very good health thank goodness. I am widowed and have 2 grown children. One of my sons has 2 daughters. Jeanine is 15 years old; Julia is 8 years old. For many years I was the director of free legal services organizations for the elderly. I moved to Mendocino 3 years ago. My children grew up in San Francisco where we lived for nearly forty years. I love to travel and am interested in folk art. I am currently writing poetry and my memoirs. I am looking for a home exchange for myself and my friend Jeff who is a retired landscape gardener. He is currently living in Paris so he would be available to meet you. I would like my son and daughter-in-law and 2 granddaughters to spend their summer vacation with us so I can introduce them to my favorite city. Both girls are very nice and well behaved, so my family and Jeff would take excellent care of your home.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

The closest town, Mendocino, is a 5 minute drive away. It is a picturesque and popular tourist destination. A number of movies have been made in this location because of its beauty. There are lots and lots of State Parks with miles of beaches, walks along the cliffs overlooking the ocean, broad rivers good for canoeing, hikes into the coastal hills, forests of redwood trees. A few miles inland are many good wineries. From another neighboring town (10 minute drive away) you may deep sea fish on a chartered boat. Good restaurants and since this is an artist community, art galleries and lots of music. Down the road from me is an old lighthouse, still working!

Other exchanges that may interest you