Beautiful California family home - looking for UK Exchange 2006

Beautiful California family home - looking for UK Exchange 2006

Marc

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

November 2005


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
3 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our home is 4BR/3BA 2200 sq ft detached two-story that is perfect for families with kids, but also suitable for a couple or a group of adults. On the second floor there are three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The master bedroom is a very large room (with 4-poster king bed with an en-suite bathroom with bathtub and shower. There is also a Lifecycle exercise bike. The second bedroom which currently has our baby's crib and a twin bed, but this could be converted to two twins. The other room is for our girls which includes bunk-beds (though they are full size and fine for most adults). The second bathroom is a large family bathroom (with tub and shower).

The ground floor consists of a living room, dining room, a family room, kitchen, small laundry room, full bath/shower and the 4th bedroom (which doubles as our computer room) . The kitchen includes a table that seats six and the dining room table can pull out to accommodate eight. The 4th bedroom includes a nice queen bed and the sofa in the family room opens out to a queen size bed.

We can offer all modern conveniences such as washer/dryer, microwave, Cable TV/DVD/VCR, computer with high speed internet, fully equipped kitchen with lots of gadgets.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are an Anglo-American couple with two well-behaved girls aged (10 and 7) and a well-supervised two year old boy! Marc is a California native who grew up about 25 miles from Castro Valley and works in the computer software industry. Becki comes from Poole, Dorset, England and she has the true 7x24 job in the house as a full time homemaker.

    We enjoy family trips, the outdoors, board games and most sports. Marc is a keen runner and cyclist and enjoys coaching kids sports teams. Becki enjoys cooking, reading, languages (speaking French & German) and teaching Sunday School. The girls enjoy horses, biking, sports, reading and all the usual things young girls like to do.

    We are strictly non-smokers and although we love animals we are quite allergic to cats so anyplace with cats would unfortunately not be a match.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our home is located on a private road in Castro Valley, California (one of the many suburbs in the San Francisco Bay Area). We are conveniently located for exploring all parts of California. The area requires a car to get around, which, subject to sorting out the insurance details we can offer. We have a 1997 Dodge Grand Caravan minivan and a 1998 Ford Taurus (5-seater) for exchange. The minivan seats 7 with some room in the back or on top for extra luggage. However, in some cases the local public transit train called BART can be the best most efficient means. We are a 3 min drive to shops and restaurants and over 40 miles of walking, hiking, and biking trails are located just a couple hundred yards from our doorstep.

The weather here is much sunnier and warmer than San Francisco with summer temperatures in the 70's & 80's and occassionaly the 90's. Depending on your interests there are a million things to do in the Bay Area and here are just a taste of the possibilities:

Castro Valley Area
------------------
- 5 minute walk to local play park and playing field (great for kids)
- 5 min drive to BART train station
- 1 min drive to 18 hole Willow Park golf course
- 10 min drive to free public tennis courts
- 5 min drive to Lake Chabot for fishing/hiking/boating

Other exchanges that may interest you