Beautiful home/garden 10 min. from Monterey Bay beaches

Beautiful home/garden 10 min. from Monterey Bay beaches

Krissen

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

February 2006


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our house is tastefully furnished in a comfortable style. The living room, dining room and kitchen form one large, sunny and open great room that shares the same two-story ceiling. In the living area is a wood burning stove and a cozy window seat. Our favorite room is the small brick garden room that opens off the dining room. With its skylights and windows, it's a great place for the morning paper and cup of coffee. The large kitchen opens onto a deck where we enjoy meals or just sit and watch the birds at the feeders in the summer or warm up in the hot tub in the winter.

We have three bedrooms and two baths. One is set up as our guest room with closet and single bed. The other one is used as an office but has a double bed futon. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed and master bath. This bedroom also has a high cathedral ceiling and a balcony that looks out onto the back yard.

Below the master bedroom is a garage with washer and drier, two bicycles and helmets, board games, and beach mats and chairs for the use of our guests.

The house sits on an acre of land which is mostly garden with paths leading to peaceful sitting spots and an organic vegetable garden and fruit trees.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are Krissen, recently retired from teaching elementary school and Dave, semi-retired from his job as a software engineer. We enjoy gardening, walking on the beach, hiking in the nearby state parks, and camping in the Sierra Nevadas and southwest deserts. Our four children are grown so no longer travel with us. We love to travel and thoroughly enjoyed our previous highly successful exchanges in Paris, Boston and County Cork, Ireland. We value the exchanges of emails and have enjoyed the cultural exchanges as well as our vacations! We have prepared an extensive notebook about our house and things to do in the surrounding area to help our future exchangers have a great time during their California visit. We know how important it is in an exchange to have trust that your house will be well taken care of while you are traveling and will treat our exchange home with great care. Because Krissen is allergic to cats, we are not able to exchange to a home with a cat. We also would caution against a family with a toddler exchanging with us as our home has unprotected stairs and decks. Our three yr. old granddaughter is a frequent visitor, however we do have to watch her carefully. We are currently looking for an exchange in the D.C. area in late October but are always interested in exchange possibilities and welcome your emails!

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our home is located near Santa Cruz, California, a seaside resort town 90 minutes south of San Francisco and 45 minutes north of Monterey/Carmel. We love living in this area because with the mild weather, we can enjoy its many outdoor activities year round. It's an ideal location for enjoying the area's many free beaches, golfing, wine tasting, hiking in the nearby redwood forests and mountains and visiting the numerous restaurants and cultural attractions. For families, there are several nearby child-centered museums, a steam train ride through the redwoods, a renowned amusement park, and in Monterey, a world class aquarium. From our home you can make an easy several day trip to Yosemite National Park. See our website for links to the area's many activities.

Other exchanges that may interest you