Traditional semi-detached house with lovely garden

Traditional semi-detached house with lovely garden

3 Reviews

Neil & Nicky

Last logged in

This month

First joined

June 2008

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 5
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Come and experience one of the great cities of the medieval world! York is a fascinating and truly historic city, and our house is perfectly situated approximately 2 miles (3.5km) from the centre which is easily reached on foot, by bicycle or by bus. We live in a quiet but friendly neighbourhood which has an excellent range of shops close by. We have a colourful sunny garden with two paved sitting areas, shrubs and established borders as well as an attractive wildlife pond. We have two double bedrooms and one single, and a bathroom upstairs, with kitchen/diner, downstairs cloakroom and two reception rooms. The house is very well provided for a comfortable stay, and will be clean but also appears lived-in! There are lots of books, and wireless internet connection, a Sonos music system as well as many CDs! Bicycles and a bicycle rack for the car are available, and we always ensure that we have many maps and up to date leaflets and guide books to this lovely area. A car exchange is possible and we prefer to do this when exchanging outside the UK if we can.

Property features

3 Reviews

Who we are

  1. We are a couple - Nicky is an archaeologist, and Neil is now semi-retired. We have 2 grown up daughters (who would not be travelling with us) and we have been keen and successful exchangers for many years. We have now done 20 exchanges, and we have had some fantastic experiences in the UK, Europe and Canada. We would want to exchange with non-smokers please and are particularly interested in history, archaeology, the countryside and wildlife and love exploring new countries and living in different neighbourhoods. We are prepared to consider all offers of exchanges, so please get in touch! We look forward to hearing from you!

    Please note that we are unlikely to be able to do non-simultaneous exchanges.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live on a quiet no through road which is less than 5 minutes walk to a wide range of shops including bakeries, banks, post offices, supermarkets and other small shops. Local attractions include a fascinating 20th century 'Cold War Bunker' and a marvellous old working windmill, both within 10 minutes walk! It is easy to travel into the city centre with its magnificent Minster, National Railway Museum, Viking Centre, lovely historic city walls and many other museums and attractions, and there is a huge range of cafes and restaurants to choose from. Visit http://www.visityork.org/ for more information about our ancient and characterful city.
We are also ideally situated for trips to the seaside, with resorts such as Whitby & Scarborough well worth visiting. The beautiful Yorkshire Dales, Moors and Wolds, the Lake District, and even North Wales or Scotland are all within easy driving. For other cultural interests, there are several World Heritage sites nearby such as Fountains Abbey and Saltaire Mills, and the cities of Leeds, Sheffield and Hull are all a short drive or train journey away. Other notable place to visit include Castle Howard (The location for the famed Brideshead Revisited TV series), Haworth (home of the Bronte sisters) and the Hepworth Art Gallery in Wakefield. The north of England is a wonderful part of the UK to experience, but the train can also take you to London or Edinburgh in only 2 hours.

Other exchanges that may interest you