Family home in lovely part of London

Family home in lovely part of London

Tristan

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

February 2008


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our home is typical for the area - comfortable, relaxed and welcoming. We have neighbours all around, but the street is a dead-end so it's quiet. There's parking for one or two cars, but you don't need one here. Most of the local spots you'd want to get to are easy to reach on foot, by bike, or by bus. Anything further away is simple by train. Our home has a kitchen/dining area which opens right onto the back garden - this is where we spend most of our time. We have a big collection of hand-made pottery, lovely to eat off of. In the summer, the garden is a great place to play and relax, with a BBQ and table and chairs. The living room is at the front of the house, a quiet place to watch TV or read. The house is well-stocked with books, CDs and children's videos! Downstairs there's a utility room with washer and dryer, drying racks, a freezer and a toilet. Upstairs the main bedroom has a cherrywood queen bed, an electric piano, and an en suite shower room. (The water pressure in our home is excellent!) There is a girl's bedroom with bunk beds and a boy's bedroom with one twin bed that has another underneath to pull out and pop up into a proper twin bed. The bathroom on the hallway has a nice tub with a shower attachment. We have a maid who will come and clean once a week if you want.

Property features

Who we are

  1. Andy is English and Tristan is American, and we have both lived in both countries off and on for the past twenty years. Our kids are both in the local primary school, and love to travel! Andy has a small business, working with American business school professors and multi-national companies. Tristan is training to be a yoga teacher and writes children's non-fiction books. We have never done a house swap before, but have friends who love it. We're good at American visitors, having hosted so many friends and family already. We'd love to tell you more about our area, and hope you'll end up loving it as much as we do.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

This is a great base for exploring London and the historic Richmond area. It's a three minute walk to the train station, and then there are up to eight trains an hour which take 35 minutes to central London. Closer to home, we have two of London's Royal Parks within walking or cycling distance - Bushy Park and Richmond Park. Hampton Court Palace and Ham House are also walkable. Teddington Lock is minutes away, with walks and bike rides along the River Thames. The Thames Path National Trail - all 180 miles of it - is right here. Kew Gardens is magnificent, and right up the river. Teddington itself is a really nice town. We have excellent shops, cafes and restaurants you can walk to in minutes. There's a public pool, tennis courts and playground minutes away. Shopping in Richmond-upon-Thames and Kingston is easy to get to, charming and fun. You can catch a boat in Kingston that will take you all the way to the heart of London. For kids, Legoland is 40 minutes away, and Thorpe Park and Chessington World of Adventures are also nearby. London's museums are free, and most have excellent programmes for kids.

Other exchanges that may interest you