Old farmhouse, sleeps 7

Old farmhouse, sleeps 7


Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

November 2016

Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)

Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our house is a relaxed old farmhouse (200m2) in the centre of the village, thatched but a house rather than a cottage with good ceiling heights. There are two large sitting / living rooms, both with woodburner. The kitchen has a table where up to 8 can eat, and there is a large utility with loo and washing machine. The entrance hall has Victorian tiles and a piano, and there are two staircases. All floors downstairs are tiled, stone, or wooden with rugs. Upstairs is carpeted (except bathrooms) and there are 4 bedrooms (large standard double with ensuite shower, two singles and a further large bedroom with 4ft bed). The family bathroom and the ensuite shower room both have electric showers. There is a safely fenced/walled 30 metre garden behind the house, and garden chairs and bicycles in summer house at back, and a basic barbecue. We moved here in early summer 2015, and have done quite a lot, but still room for improvement!
We have two friendly cats, who would need feeding and some attention) and a dog who woould like to travel with us. We also have a 14hh New Forest pony who lives in a field behind a neighbours house 2 minutes walk up road; the neighbour will look after him while we are away but if you are keen / competent you are very welcome to take him out for rides.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are Harriet and Carlos Blanco and we are both teachers (modern languages / Classics ) and we have three children: Felix (17) Oscar (16) and Lalage (9). We have two friendly cats who would need to be fed, and a dog (lurcher) whom we would want to take with us to your house.
    We have done one very successful swap with a family on the Isle of Wight, and are keen to try some more, both in the UK and abroad.
    OUr house will be clean and tidy for your arrival and we will look after yours as well as we do our own.

Our availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Okeford Fitzpaine is a smallish village (population about 700) at the edge of the beautiful Blackmore Vale (called the Vale of the Little Dairies in Thomas Hardy's novels), in one or Dorset 's AONBs (area of outstanding natural beauty). The village has a good pub and an excellent village shop 100 metres from house. There are beautiful walks all around, both flat and hilly (Hambledon Hill, Hod Hill and Okeford Hill), and the nearest beach is 40 minutes. There are some lovely swimming spots in the nearby river Stour (1 mile).
Places to visit nearby include:
Shaftesbury (pretty hilltop town), Wimborne Minster, Sherborne (with abbey), Thomas Hardy's house Bockhampton (20 min); Salisbury cathedral; Lawrence of Arabia's house at Clouds Hill; Corfe Castle (40 mins); Kingston Lacy House (25 mins); Lulworth Castle; the famous Jurassic coast with beautiful coves for swimming and stunning coastal walks (closest 35 mins); Monkey World and the Tank Museum (20 mins).

Other exchanges that may interest you