Large, family home in leafy inner London suburb

Large, family home in leafy inner London suburb


Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

October 2010

Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)

Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
3 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Ours is a large family home in a pleasant inner London suburb. It has a spacious kitchen and dining room which is on the upper ground floor which overlooks the tree-lined street at the front and opens out on to a balcony (with chairs and table), overlooking (and leading down to the garden) at the back. Across the hall is the drawing room at the front and a comfortable sitting room with television and DVD player at the back. On the next floor are the large master bedroom and two further double bedrooms (both at the back). We also have a room which we call the office which as a PC, piano, comfortable seating, bookcases and a small television. This room has a double sofa bed, which could be used if required. Upstairs again is a further double bedroom. There are two bathrooms, both with baths and showers off the staircases. All bedrooms have double beds, but there is room for additional single beds to be added in the bedrooms if required.

Additionally there is my husband's alternative health practice on the lower ground floor, reached via a separate entrance with entry into the well-stocked garden (with additional garden seating and barbecue). A shed contains bicycles. This self-contained flat also houses the washing machine.

Overall the house is large and airy. It is a very comfortable family house which we have tastefully decorated and we have lived in it for the past seven years.

We have cleaners that come once a week and also someone to water our gardener and window boxes. Our car (Peugeot 207) would be available for you to use.

Property features

Who we are

  1. I, Vicky, am a headhunter and cycle into Piccadilly every day to work, Giles is an acupuncturist who works from his practice in the self-contained flat on the lower ground floor of our house. Our oldest son is at Nottingham university and our daughter starts at Stanford University in the summer of 2011. We have a lovely dog, Stanley, who won't be in the house when you stay - and have lived in this house for seven years. Previously, we lived not far for 13 years.

    We also have a small cottage in Cornwall which could also be available.

Our availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

East Dulwich must be one of the very nicest areas of London, with a mix of professional families and young couples. Many are artistic and there are quite a few galleries. We live 100 yards away from a large, attractive park with tea shop, lake, bowling green and children's play area. Across the road we have a minimart with everything one needs including food, newspapers and magazines. There is also a lovely cafe serving homemade food throughout the day (useful if you don't want to cook. Just five minutes away, North Cross road has lots of very quirky shops and a market on Fridays and Saturdays. There are lots of trendy bars and pubs within five - 10 minutes and all the food shops you would want including butcher, fishmonger, post office, supermarket, delicatessen, bakers, off-licences etc etc.

A bus stop, just across the road will take you right into London's west end in an hour, or you can jump out at a tube or train station and make the journey in 30-40 minutes. Our road does have some traffic, particularly at rush hour, but this is never a problem for us.

A short drive away is Dulwich village with the world-famous Dulwich Picture Gallery and the Horniman museum, equally is a 7 minute drive away.

Other exchanges that may interest you