Comfortable, well-equipped family home in central London

Comfortable, well-equipped family home in central London

Andrew

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

October 2011


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Ours is a Victorian house with a modern extension which has been our family home for 14 years. It's at the end of a terrace on a quiet residential road and it has a 60ft garden.

We've got three bedrooms and a study. The main bedroom has a double bed in it and the other two have single beds which can both be converted into doubles.

Two of the bedrooms are on the first floor, where we've also got our main bathroom, and the third is at the top of the house, where it has a shower room attached.

Downstairs we have a large living room and a large kitchen, with kitchen/dining table that easily seats eight people and windows in the roof that let in a lot of light.

By London standards we've got a large garden that attracts the sun at lunchtime. We've also got a large trampoline.

Property features

Who we are

  1. I'm Andrew and I'm a journalist on the Guardian. My wife is Anna and she used to work in financial services before she gave up work to spend more time at home with our children. We've got two girls, aged 14 and 10. We've also got a dog (who will go to kennels or a relative while we're away) and a cat (who will also go somewhere else, unless you are very keen to look after her). For the last few years we've taken our main summer holiday in France, but in 2012 we did an exchange with a family in California, which we enjoyed enormously,and in 2014 we would like to return to the US.

    We'd like to go to New England, possibly to Boston or somewhere just outside. We'd like to spend about three weeks in the US, but we would be happy to exchange for just two weeks and do some travelling on our own before or after.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live in Clapham Old Town, a smart, residential area that is only 20 minutes by bus from Trafalgar Square.

Although we are in a quiet street, there's an excellent convenience store only two minutes' walk away.

The main shops in Clapham are about 10 minutes' walk away. Clapham is a smart area and it is full of upmarket restaurants and bars. There is also a cinema and a big supermarket and of course Clapham Common, a huge open space with play areas for children. There are other attractive parks nearby.

From our house it is easy to explore the whole of London. You can walk to the Houses of Parliament or Trafalgar Square in about 45/50 minutes, but a bus will get you there in 20. The bus stop is about 90 seconds' walk away from our front door. The London Eye and the National Theatre are also about 20 minutes away by bus. You can get to Chelsea and the King's Road, where you'll find some of the best shopping in the city, in just 10 minutes on the bus. The nearest underground station is at Clapham Common, about 10 minutes' walk away. We're also not far from Clapham Junction station, from where you can get trains all over the south of England.

Other exchanges that may interest you