COME VISIT ONE OF THE WORLD'S MOST EXCITING CITIES!

COME VISIT ONE OF THE WORLD'S MOST EXCITING CITIES!

4 Reviews

Patsie

Last logged in

This week

First joined

August 2010

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

I am always looking for long exchanges in Australia in my winter, between Nov
to March from one month or more, top choice is Sydney as I used to live there. And I love short exchanges in European cities at any time.

My apartment is very light and airy and just 10-15 minutes walk from the Wimbledon Tennis Championships in Southfields. My street is treelined and I am not overlooked by people, but look out on a Church. The windows are double glazed so it is not noisy. I live on the second floor and there is a lift as well as stairs.
I have two bedrooms, one of which I use as the spare room and my office but it does have a very comfortable sofa bed. My flat is not suitable for young children and I would prefer a maximum of 3 people only.
My bathroom has a shower over the bath and the kitchen has a breakfast bar.
There is also a console table in the living room which unfolds to a dining table and there are chairs stored away that could be used with that table. My tv is digital but does not have cable channels. However there are many freeview channels to choose from. There is a very small tv in the spare room too. Both tvs will play dvds also.

I have wonderful neighbours too who can help if there are any problems. I do have a small covered parking bay behind the building too if needed.
We have an intercom security entry on the main front door.
There is also a shared roof terrace with views of London (but not views of the tennis championships!)
I have an unlimited wifi service in the flat and hope for that in an exchange home too.
We are three mins walk to the nearest bus stop, five mins walk to the nearest shops and ten mins walk to the underground station with lots more varied shops, cafes and restaurants.

Property features

4 Reviews

Who we are

  1. I am now retired and although my career was in the travel business I am looking forward to seeing even more of the world and trying to live as a local and not just a tourist when I come to your country. I have very much enjoyed my many exchanges so far and look forward to lots more!

    My greatest love is travel but I also love theatre and cinema too and make use of all that is on offer in London. I should like to welcome you to my fabulous city and look forward to giving my guests some ideas and tips to enhance their stay in my home town.
    Come and give it a try!

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

I do not have a car (and do not drive) but am surrounded by numerous transport links which make it very easy to get anywhere in London and also all of the U.K. Close by there are lots of local buses and the underground,(ten minutes walk) plus two main railway stations are not far. It is easy to get into central London by underground with all its exciting cultural events - museums, theatres, cinemas and parks etc.
I also need to be close to public transport if I exchange.

I am near many local parks - Wimbledon Common, Cannizaro Park, Putney Heath (near the River Thames) and am surrounded by good shopping areas, (Wimbledon, Putney, Kingston)including the trendy Wimbledon Village with all its lovely English pubs, and choice of restaurants and boutiques, the very old Windmill museum, plus of course all the areas of central London. Something for everyone! And of course the whole of Europe is close by and we are near to Gatwick and Heathrow if you wish to take some side trips around Europe. Come and explore! I have lots of tourist information to assist you.

Best restaurants
My favourite local restaurants are The Olive Garden (a familystyle Italian restaurant) and the Thai Girder, both near the underground station. Plus I have a full dossier about my flat and the local area which I will email you if we decide to exchange.
Nightlife
You can find lots of theatres etc in the centre of London, plus nearer to home we have a large Theatre in Wimbledon itself. There are lots of pubs in Wimbledon if you wish to stay closer to home.
Favourite cafés
Southfields has Cafe Nero, Costa Coffee and Starbucks plus a couple of independent coffee shops.
Where to go shopping
Closest small supermarket, the Co-op is 5 minutes walk from me and there are three more at the Tube station ten minutes walkaway.
Your area's cultural and historical landmarks
The famous Wimbledon Lawn Tennis Club with its museum is ten minutes walk from me.
Local walks
We are surrounded by parks. See above in neighbourhood description.
Places you love to exercise
See my neighbourhood description for lots of ideas.
Top day trips
London is your oyster. You are truly spoilt for choice and I leave lots of tourist info.

Other exchanges that may interest you