Big comfortable London house with lovely views over the city

Big comfortable London house with lovely views over the city

2 Reviews

Sonia

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

February 2008

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

5 Bedrooms
Sleeps 8
3 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our spacious and tranquil house was built just after the First World War and sits halfway up a big hill in inner South-East London, in a street that is known for its dramatic views. Downstairs we have a very big space made up of a sitting room and dining room with double doors connecting them. There is also a cosy second sitting room/TV room, a fairly well equipped kitchen and a bathroom and shower leading off the kitchen. We have 5 bedrooms in all. On the first floor there are four bedrooms and a bathroom. Two of these bedrooms are very spacious - one of these is a charming child's bedroom and playroom with big windows onto the garden and lots of toys, the other a parents' bedroom with a very comfortable super king size bed. The two smaller bedrooms on this floor are a study where there is a double sofa bed and a single bedroom. On the top floor is perhaps the nicest bedroom, a further double one with kingsize bed - this has an en suite bathroom and the best views of London in the house. You are also very welcome to use the fitness equipment (exercise bike and cross trainer) in this room. The house is furnished with a combination of contemporary and some Indian and Moroccan furniture.

Property features

2 Reviews

Who we are

  1. We are a family of three. Sonia is a doctor and academic working in the field of mental health. Justin is a social policy academic. We have a lively 11 year old son who enjoys travelling, playing the trombone, board games, and Minecraft - he goes to school very near our house, so we know many people locally. We have a cat called Tigger, who is very friendly and enjoys playing with children - he prefers to stay at home when we go on holiday, so we'll be very grateful if you can look after him and also pay a little attention to our garden if its dry. We are of course very happy to do the same! I'm afraid we don't want to send him to a cattery, so will only accept exchanges where Tigger can stay at home with our guests.
    Apart from our work and entertaining our boy, our greatest enthusiasms are for music, especially classical, for our city and its history and vibrant cultural life, and for travelling. We are sociable and like to entertain in our nice home. One of us is half German and the other half Austrian please do write to us in German, French or Italian if that's easier. We travelled a lot before our little boy came along, especially in Western and Eastern Europe. We have really got the home exchange bug, and have now done more than 30, including Paris (4 times!), Amsterdam, Utrecht, Rome, Madrid, Dorset, Norfolk, Copenhagen, Croatia, the Jura, Normandy,the Loire Valley, La Rochelle and quite a few more. We enjoy exploring big cities, but also very much like a complete change of scene, for example a house deep in the countryside.
    We cannot swap outside English school holidays and are not usually able to do non-simultaneous exchanges. We often like to take friends along with us on swaps, and so are interested in large properties where people are happy for us to do this.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live in a leafy and lively London neighbourhood in easy reach of major attractions. Our local station, Honor Oak Park is connected to the tube network via the London Overground (www.cultureline.org.uk), as well as having regular fast trains to London Bridge on the river. The South Bank is 15 minutes away from Honor Oak Park and the West End 30-40 minutes away by tube/train. The station is 10-15 minutes walk away from our house and several buses also pass close by, so that you can also travel into central London via a direct bus.
Our neighbourhood is attractive, tranquil and historic, and has an unusually large amount of green space. It also has a strong community spirit, giving it a surprisingly village-like feel. Ten minutes walk from our place takes you to 19th century Peckham Rye park (http://www.foprp.org.uk/), to some very pleasant pubs and restaurants, and to several smaller green spaces, including One Tree Hill, a wood with striking views over London. Also around 10-15 minutes walk away is the Horniman Museum and Gardens (www.horniman.ac.uk), famously child friendly and known for distinguished musical and ethnographic collections, and for its nature centre and its aquarium. Fifteen to twenty minutes walk brings you to East Dulwich's Lordship Lane with many interesting small shops, especially for food, and lively and atmospheric cafes, pubs and restaurants. Thirty minutes walk or ten minutes on the bus takes you to historic Dulwich Village, which has beautiful houses, lovely Dulwich Park and Dulwich Picture Gallery, one of the UK's leading small art museum, with a collection including fine works by Rembrandt, Poussin and Gainsborough, as well as regular exhibitions. (http://www.dulwichpicturegallery.org.uk/the_gallery.aspx). For a more edgy and contemporary art scene Peckham and Camberwell are also close and are increasingly important centres for new art, nightlife and eating out, with some great new restaurants recently opened in Peckham.
Other notable South-East London attractions include historic riverside Greenwich, well worth a day out, Crystal Palace, with its remnants of Queen Victoria's Great Exhibition, wild and historic Nunhead Cemetery and Eltham Palace, a grand and intriguing blend of Tudor and art deco.

Best restaurants
Mamma Dough Pizza http://mammadough.co.uk/, Le Querce Sardinian restaurant http://lequerce.co.uk/, Babur Indian http://www.babur.info/, Ganapati South Indian http://www.ganapatirestaurant.com/, Peckham Bazaar Ottoman https://www.peckhambazaar.com/
Nightlife
Watson's General Telegraph pub https://www.watsonstelegraph.pub/, The Ivy House http://www.ivyhousenunhead.com/
Favourite cafés
Norris and Knight https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g186338-d10178307-Reviews-Norris_Knight-London_England.html

Other exchanges that may interest you