Character family house in pleasant market town (midway between London and coast)

Character family house in pleasant market town (midway between London and coast)

Sarah

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

December 2007


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

This is a spacious and comfortable four bedroomed house on three floors (although you wouldn't necessarily need to use the third floor if stairs bother you). It was built in 1926, is detached and is on a quiet, leafy road, but just ten minutes' walk into town. There is a good sized, well equipped modern kitchen, dining room,lounge and study. Garden has terrace. Main bedroom has double bed and then there are four single beds. One bathroom is separate and the second is ensuite to the main bedroom. The house is about six minutes walk from the rail station which runs to central London (no train noise though). Farnham is a great place to live and many people move out of London to settle here and bring up their family. There is a small park about two minutes' walk away. There are four decent bikes. Have two but they wouldn't be around. Would like to swap cars.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are a family of four - parents mid-50s & two children 21/22. We have travelled extensively and before having children, spent two years in Japan. I teach and my husband is self-employed in import/export and is home-based, although travelling frequently. We have done seven exchanges: America,Spain, France,Singapore and S.Africa- all very successful. One family has swapped with us twice! In 2016 we'd like a summer swap in Europe, preferably near beach or pool. We would also consider shorter breaks(4 days?)in a European/UK location.All options considered. We are only able to travel in UK school holidays.
    We are particularly interested in a short (several days)swap in or near Stockholm as our daughter will be studying ther.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Farnham is a traditional English market town, with historic architecture and a variety of shops, restaurants and services. It is on the Surrey/Hampshire border so close to extensive open countryside. There is also a university specialising in Art, so a good mixed community. There is a sports centre/pool. There is a fantastic 'Go Ape' tree walk adventure course nearby (for those with a head for heights)If you like theme parks the main ones are around 40 mins' away. For those who enjoy hiking/walking, we are a few minutes from access to the famous North Downs Way. We are about 50km from London and 45km from the south coast. The nearest big town is Guildford (a city) about 15 minutes drive away and has every shop that you'll find in London. The train into central London takes 50 minutes. Farnham is very close (5/10 minutes) to beautiful countryside where there are many walks over National Trust and Forestry Commission land. It is easy to visit London for a day trip/theatre (many people commute daily from Farnham) and there is a super outlet shopping centre and historic shipyard in Portsmouth (45 mins' drive). There are literally loads of places to visit, including several National Trust stately homes within an hour's drive. The historical cities of Chichester and Winchester are 40 mins' drive. Windsor Castle/Hampton Court are within the hour. We are also less than an hour from both Heathrow and Gatwick airports. See Website:farnham.gov.uk for more info.

Other exchanges that may interest you