Comfortable and spacious family home in Edinburgh - city centre under 20 minutes

Comfortable and spacious family home in Edinburgh - city centre under 20 minutes

Ailsa

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

February 2006


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Modern, recently decorated family home on two levels with wireless internet access throughout/central heating/instant hot water : Level One: - Large double bedroom ? a bright and sunny room. The dining room with space for up to 8 people to sit comfortably over dinner. The kitchen which is fully equipped with all usual appliances plus: microwave, steamer, blender and breakfasting table. The super comfortable lounge has two large leather reclining sofas and a wide screen TV/DVD/cable TV. Level Two: - Two spacious bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with a single bed - but both also have a double sofa bed. A new bathroom with toilet/bath/sink and a separate shower cubicle with power shower. Private driveway to the front and private garden with patio and barbeque to the rear. There are plenty of computer games/books/DVD's and both a play Station and a wii console in case of rain. ******PLEASE NOTE WE ARE NOW FULLY BOOKED FOR SUMMER 2010 BUT MAY CONSIDER SHORTER PERIODS*****

Property features

Who we are

  1. I am Ailsa (42), recently graduated from Edinburgh University and part time administrator for Zurich Life, and Graham (42) is in IT. We have two boys; Owen (18) who works for the Royal Bank of Scotland and has his own flat now, so his room is available any time for up to three people, and Justin (16) who is still at school (and home). They both spend most of their spare time playing football. We enjoy most of the usual stuff: sports, museums, reading, cinema and socialising - we especially love travelling and meeting new people. We completed our second house exchange in December and are now completely hooked!!, We have also, previously, hosted foreign students in our home for many yearsand enjoy experiencing other cultures. We are very happy to enter into discussions and will send over any tourist brochures, train timetables etc - anything to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. Scotland is a wonderful country and I am sure you would have the most fantastic time here. We have lovely neighbours and my parents live about two streets away and will be on hand in the unlikely event that you should have any questions or problems. We have a small knowledge (or friends who do anyway!) of French, Spanish, German and Greek.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live in the very quiet, beautiful and historic village of Corstorphine which became a suburb of Edinburgh in the 1930's, 20 minutes from Edinburgh's city centre. Within 5 minutes walking distance there are several local shops and two local parks (one with tennis courts?. There is a major out of town shopping centre within 10 minutes (by car) and there are some lovely local restaurants and bars within about 5 or 10 (walking) minutes that are extremely well priced. Edinburgh Zoo is 20 minutes (walking) and there is a very good bus route from our house to the city centre, bus station, train station and airport. This home is perfect for a family with a quiet garden and family pubs/restaurants close by, but close enough to Edinburgh to enjoy the galleries, museums, nightlife, shopping and festivals which Edinburgh has to offer. Edinburgh is only a couple of hours from both the awesome Scottish highlands and the Scottish Border with England, heavily populated both with castles and legends, making our house ideally suited to some exploring. There are also numerous beautiful beaches and country parks ? all easily accessible by either car or bus (optional car swap is possible).

Other exchanges that may interest you