Alternative Artist's studio/house on a farm in central drakensberg

Alternative Artist's studio/house on a farm in central drakensberg

Francoise

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

January 2008


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

My home is uniquely fantastic!. It was custom-built for and by myself and provides enough open plan space to accommodate myself, my son and all our artistic endeavours. It can definetely be called alternative as it is not the run-of-the-mill suburban house. It is built in a U-shape around an open-air 'lounge'- great for open fire cooking. Interesting features include an open fireplace with cement, iron and glass detail, an enamel bowl built into the front facade and cement shelves in an African/Mexican style. The interior is scattered with objects d'art and crafts passionately collected over years of travel and work in Southern Africa.
My home is by no means luxurious, but provides the necessary basics for easy country living. It is close to - but very seperate - from the main farmhouse where my parents live. (They are extremely friendly people who will respect your privacy while helping wherever they can). Situated on a crop farm some 13km from the closest town, my house is surrounded by fruit trees and a huge, beautiful garden (including veggies which may be enjoyed by everyone). Wild birds are in abundance. Love my house and it will love you!

Property features

Who we are

  1. Ex-journalist, jeweller, painter, community crafts developer, gardener, coffeeshop potato and mother to 13 year old Siemon, I returned to the family farm two years ago after living with the Bushmen of the Kalahari for seven years. Siemon recently accompanied me to Europe for his first taste of the world outside of Africa. The travel bug bit him - as it did me years back! House exchange will hopefully help me cut down my expenses to indulge in this passion while giving us the opportunity to really get to know other countries! We promise to respect, love and care for your home.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Ideally located on a crop farm in the central Drakensberg area of Winterton (13km from my house) from where the central, northern and southern Drakensberg can be explored. Durban is 250 km in the one and Johanesburg 350km in the other direction. The central Drakensberg offers many forms of entertainment to visitors, tourists and especially people intersted in hiking in the mountains. During the summer months (September to April)the warm,sunny weather permits one to stay outdoors till all hours, enjoying the stars and night sounds.(It may rain, beware!)

Other exchanges that may interest you