A spacious welcoming family home in a lush garden with large trees

A spacious welcoming family home in a lush garden with large trees


Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

September 2010

Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)

Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 7
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

We had our home built in 1994 and have developed the garden with special attention to big indigenous trees and open lawn space. The plot is just over a 1000sq.m. and we enjoy spending time on the large patio on our old sofas or in the two hammocks under the trees. The home is comfortable with a lot of books, music, kelims, deep sofas and open airy feel (double volume above lounge and open study in the roof). Because of the high roof, It is cool in summer. We light a central fireplace in winter. The master bedroom (double bed) has its own bathroom with bath and shower and there is a separate toilet, the two kids each have their own bedroom and share a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The living areas are open with a sitting room, kitchen and dining area on the same level and the lounge area a little lower but also open to the dining room. The lounge leads to the large patio where we have spend most of out time during summer as it is cool and open to the garden. We installed a burglar alarm two years ago and have 24 hour armed response at the press of a button. The single burglary which led to this has not been repeated! If you are not a dog family, you need not look after the dog as we do have alternatives for him.

Property features

Who we are

  1. Hans is an academic and Anneke is a marketing/fund raising agent for an institute at the university. We love travelling and have lived abroad on 4 occasions for a number of months to a year. However, we are tied to Africa and find life in the first world a bit boring after a few months. Hiking, safari, wildlife and birding, reading, music and friends fill our lives. We have not tried exchanges before but have had post-graduate students live in our house when we were away before. We do care about our stuff like most people and would not like to return to a disappointment. We would care for your home as if it was our own.

Our availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Stellenbosch is a university town and I have heard it being compared to Princeton many times. The students make the town vibey and bustling during the semester and it feels quiet and open during the breaks. There are more than a hundred restaurants in town and in the area immediately around it. Most of the wine estates have a restaurant ajoining the tasting rooms and the variety is huge. Our residential area is 4 km away from the centre of town, just opposite two golf courses and 15 km from the Strand with a beach to die for. We walk the dog in the vineyards behind the house daily (ACD's need exercise) and if we have an hour or more we walk or ride our mountain bikes right up into the Stellenbosch mountain range from home. The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly with lots of birdlife and green large gardens. We know everyone around us and we look after each other's properties when someone is away.

Other exchanges that may interest you