Family friendly home - 25 minutes from downtown Oslo

Family friendly home - 25 minutes from downtown Oslo

Hilde

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

January 2011


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

We have a small and cozy home, built in 1997. The first floor consists of a kitchen with a small dining area, a nice size family/dining room, a full bathroom with a toilet, shower, utility sink, washer and dryer and a small office. The second floor has 3 bedrooms and a bathroom with a shower and a big tub. The master bedroom has an Eastern King size bed, the second bedroom has two beds (approx. 75 x 28 inches, best suited for children or teenagers), while the third bedroom has upper/lower bunk beds (approx. 80 x 36 inches).

The house is well equipped, with good cooking tools, internet connection, television, DVD player (also plays DVDs from the U.S.), dishwasher, microwave, clothes washer and dryer etc. for your availability. We also have plenty of toddler and childrens' toys as well as books and DVDs. As American ex-pats, we are fully equipped with a range of voltage converters and plug adapters for laptops, phone and camera chargers, etc.

We have a small, but very nice yard. It has a big deck with patio furniture and a propane BBQ. We have a brand new, wooden playhouse for the kids as well as a swing set and a sand box.

For your use we also have 2 mountain bikes, 3 toddler bikes, 3 childrens' scooters, fishing rods and other outdoor toys. Right up the street from our house is also a small playground with a nice hilltop view.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are John and Hilde, an American/Norwegian couple who live just outside Oslo with our 3 daughters, aged 3, 3 and 6. We are both professionals (electrical engineer and researcher). We met in California where Hilde went to college and John worked for the US Navy. Five years ago we packed up and moved our family to Norway. During winter time we love to go sledding with the kids as well as cross-country and downhill skiing. We enjoy the outdoors and enjoy hiking, swimming and travelling.

    We usually travel to the US 1-2 times a year to spend time with John's family in the Midwest. However, we haven't been back to California since we left in 2005 and we would really like to go back to visit. During our time in California we lived in San Diego, Thousand Oaks and Orange County. We have not done a home exchange before but are eager to try it and are hoping to find someone in Southern California who would enjoy spending 2-3 weeks in Norway in July of 2011!

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live in the nice and safe residential community of Strømmen, located only 13 miles from downtown Oslo. Our house is close to a big shopping mall (3 min drive), an outdoor waterpark with 3 swimming pools and a water slide (5 min drive). The city centre of Lillestrøm is a 20 minute walk away (5 min drive), and can offer shops, restaurants, movie theatres and a nature reserve.

We're minutes away from large forests which can offer miles of trails for hiking and mountain biking as well as small lakes where you can enjoy fishing, swimming or canoeing.

Our home is only a 5 minute walk away from the local train station where the train stops every 30 minutes and the ride to Oslo central station is only 26 minutes. Also, the airport express train in Lillestrøm offers a 12 minute ride to and from the airport. By car you can reach downtown Oslo in 20 minutes. Oslo has much to offer with its many museums, restaurants, boat tours of the fjords, shopping etc.

Other exchanges that may interest you