Sorry, not available for exchanges at this time

Sorry, not available for exchanges at this time

Trish and John

Last logged in

This month

First joined

April 2008


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

A small paradise: with a world of opportunities to explore just around the corner. You can be as restful or as active as you wish.
Our home is in a quiet, private lane. We are tucked into native trees and love our sunroom, like a treehouse, to relax and enjoy the natural world and birdlife.
The main entry level has the open living area - lounge, dining, kitchen, the guest bedroom, bathroom, laundry and sunroom. Upstairs is our main bedroom and bathroom, which can be used by guests if needed. It's not a large home but has everything you need in a comfortable and convenient layout. The sunroom has a private outlook of the natural environment. Our decor is colourful and eclectic, with treasures we have gathered in our travels.
Our garden has a small lawn with vegetable beds and fruit trees. A pebble path leads down to the gazebo deck, the pebble patio and the stream on the boundary. We attract birds with a bird feeding table and bird baths (Tui, greenfinch, sparrow, doves, native pigeon, rosella, yellow finch, silvereye, fantail, thrush, blackbird, and others) . It's a real haven!
We have two bikes available and a car which may be included in the swap.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are a semi-retired couple, teacher and business mentor. We are keen travellers and now have the time for more flexible and extensive travel options. Although this is our primary home we do have options for non-simultaneous exchange. We have travelled to many places and have lived overseas. We have adult family in NZ and abroad.

    Our interests include our home, garden and the natural environment, meeting people, walking, biking, and exploring, travel & lifestyle adventures, reading, theatre, handcrafts, photography, family and friends.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our neighbourhood is a peaceful residential lane with no through-traffic. There are walking/cycling lanes in all directions, going through the green reserves and residential streets. We are just a short walk to the beach, fitness centre, restaurants and supermarket, and a short drive to shopping complexes, theatres and city life. There are numerable day trips by road and ferry.
The many beaches nearby are beautiful and safe for swimming and water sports. Within 15 minutes' drive are significant regional parks and animal sanctuaries with a variety of nature walks. From the same area you can take a short ferry ride to Auckland city and to bird sanctuary islands. Other activities are available for hire such as day boating and fishing trips, scenic flights, hot pools, vineyards, Auckland city by road or ferry and several shopping areas. Public transport is available but a car is more convenient and we are open to car exchange.
The climate in northern NZ is temperate and comfortable. Our summer daytimes are usually within 15 - 28 degrees and winter 10 - 20 degrees. Most days are sunny and suitable for outdoor activities, occasional days are showery. This is a wonderful place to get a feel for city life and the great NZ outdoors and a great starting point for further adventures around NZ.

http://regionalparks.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/shakespear

http://regionalparks.aucklandcouncil.govt.nz/wenderholm

http://www.waiwera.co.nz/events-and-offers

http://rodneyaeroclub.nz/

https://www.aucklandnz.com/visit/destinations/hauraki-gulf-and-islands/tiritiri-matangi-island?gclid=Cj0KCQjwvuDPBRDnARIsAGhuAmbEQqh6ohF9cgFyWqWQD-DmB16sFewUpKoehzRpo6sn75YBa8V8g7EaAmUzEALw_wcB

http://www.doc.govt.nz/parks-and-recreation/places-to-go/auckland/places/tiritiri-matangi-scientific-reserve-open-sanctuary/

https://www.heartofthecity.co.nz/all-you-need/ferries-auckland-city

https://www.skycityauckland.co.nz/attractions/sky-tower/

Other exchanges that may interest you