Wooden house on 2/3 acre with wetland, orchard, garden, hens. Close to beaches.

Wooden house on 2/3 acre with wetland, orchard, garden, hens. Close to beaches.


Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

January 2013

Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)

Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

We built this home ourselves back in 1983, raised four kids here and gradually built up the garden. Developing the orchard, wetland, native bush, vegie garden and raising hens keeps me pretty busy.
There is a double carport which I share with my lovely tenant who rents a separate little cottage on the property. She manages a very busy restaurant and is hardly ever here.
The house is very much indoor/outdoor living with French doors opening on to decking from every room.
All houses on Waiheke collect their own water and treat their own sewerage and grey water on site. Sounds scary but we are all well set up for this.
The house is on two levels with 6 steps up to the bedrooms.
The outlook is rural/bush although I am on the main road with a village round the corner with cafes, market, takeaways, bakery.

Property features

Who we are

  1. I am a single retired specialist teacher with 4 children and about to be 4 grandchildren. I also have 8 hens which visitors can take care of if they want, or a neighbor does it for me.
    I want to exchange with London as my daughter is having her first baby at the end of February and she lives in Queens Park in a small apartment. I want to be 'on hand' but not 'on top of them'.
    I am an outdoors sort of person with all the usual passions gardening, cooking, entertaining, socialising, reading, walking, pilates, swimming. I am addicted to our National Radio which has very good quality programs every morning.
    I do like doing road trips round NZ but not willing to drive in another country. If this house exchange works out I would like to cycle the canals in France, go to Italy, Germany.

Our availability

Open to offers
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

I am 5 minutes walk to a tidal estuary with lots of boating activities, 30 minutes walk to a beautiful sandy north facing beach in the opposite direction, 10 minutes walk to Shelly Beach which is great for swimming at high tide if it is windy on Palm Beach. There is a walkway across the estuary just over the road and a lovely bush walk along the edge of the estuary and up to a park also across the road.
Waiheke has about 40 vineyards, some of which have very fine restaurants. The wedding business is thriving here. We have a new 'Ecozip' flying fox operating, some excellent fishing charters who guarantee catching fish,cycling and walking have become very popular and we recently had our 2nd Walking Festival which pushed me to my limits at times but excellent value. However the main attraction to me is having 360 degrees of coast to explore for all weathers and tides.

Other exchanges that may interest you