Unique house with view on fort! Quiet, green, near Haarlem, Amsterdam

Unique house with view on fort! Quiet, green, near Haarlem, Amsterdam

7 Reviews

Claire

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

September 2011

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 3
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

We live in an unique wooden and modern house, build in 2005. It has a very light and open feel to it, very comfortable!

You enter at the open and modern kitchen area from which you walk down to the living area. In this area we have a large table we use during the day: eating, working, playing games, etc. There's a piano (Benthe is learning to play). You can watch TV or play games on the XBOX 360, From here you reach the terrace and shared garden. You'll have a nice view on the "Geniedijk", a dike which is a UNESCO monument.

On the first floor you'll find our new bathroom and seperate toilet. At the front of the house is the master bedroom . Our first floor living area has a great view on the fort. A very nice room for reading. We also recommend just watching the clouds go by. In the attic room, you will find Benthe's bedroom (8 years old).

The shared garden (for residents only) is perfect for (small) children, they can play and meet friends without encountering any traffic.

We have an old cargo bike which you can use of course.

The house is well suited for three persons, two adults and a small child.

Property features

7 Reviews

Who we are

  1. Jeroen (42) works as a teacher trainer and researcher (on the subject of technology enhanced learning) in higher education and Claire (39) works as a teacher of art- and cultural history at an art college in Amsterdam.

    We are proud parents of our little girl, Benthe Bloem, who is now 8 years old. And we have a young black cat named Snoet. He will be staying at our house, so something to consider if you have allergies, or simply don't fancy cats.

    We love to travel and show our child the way the rest of the world lives! We have been on ten home-exchanges before: Montreal (Canada), Paris (France), Gent (Belgium), Copenhagen (Denmark), Saint-Maur des Fosses (Ile de Paris, France), Oviedo (Asturias, Spain, summer 2013 and 2014), Avignon (Provence, France), Arnhem (The Netherlands) and Curnic/Guisseny (Finistere, Brittany, France). We enjoy exchanging very much. We think it's about 'slow travel': taking your time to really get to know a city or region, taking the time to meet it's people, all for a long lasting experience.

    At first, we were a little apprehensive to let 'strangers' in our house, but it all worked out perfectly so far!

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We are very lucky to have found this house! It's a unique environment. Green, quiet, and on the property of "Fort Vijfhuizen", part of a very large 19th century defense work of Amsterdam and now a protected UNESCO monument.

The fort has obtained a new function as a small modern art centre, with exhibitions and interesting art projects, atelier workshops and a restaurant. The house we live in is part of the "Fortwachters" project, which has been awarded with an architecture price. Our neighbors are friendly, always willing to help out and respects each others privacy.

Our home is very centrally located. We can reach the historic centre of the beautiful city of Haarlem in 10 minutes, by car or bus. Amsterdam or the beach is just 30 minutes away, by car or public transport. We have a great bus connection with Schiphol Airport: 30 minutes, from door to door. There's an express busstop in Vijfhuizen (5 minute walk) that connects the cities of Haarlem, Hoofddorp, Schiphol Airport, Amstelveen and Amsterdam South-East. Via the train stations of Haarlem, Hoofddorp or Schiphol Airport you have quick connections to Amsterdam Central Station, Leiden, The Hague, Rotterdam, Utrecht or Alkmaar.

The village Vijfhuizen is small. It has a small supermarket for your daily groceries and a fresh baker. We mostly do our shopping in Haarlem, with it's markets on Friday and Saturday, lunch cafe's and coffee places. Haarlem has been awarded 'best shopping city' of the Netherlands multiple times.

We live next to a large recreational area, Haarlemmermeerse Bos, where you can walk, swim, ride your mountain bike, etc. We have a lot of different kinds of nature in a 30 minute radius. Dunes, the beach, polder landscapes with lot's of small lakes and canals, forests and wetlands. If you like cycling, you are in the right place! Or bring your running shoes!

Other exchanges that may interest you