Sunny apartment (with fireplace & nice balcony) in the centre of Amsterdam

Sunny apartment (with fireplace & nice balcony) in the centre of Amsterdam

11 Reviews

Ylva

Last logged in

This week

First joined

December 2005

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

My house has a big livingroom (4 by 14 meters) with an open fireplace, an open kitchen incl. oven/microwave, fridge & freezer, there's a t.v., DVD/videoplayer (lot's of English DVD's & Video's) wireless internet-conection, (please note; no internetcomputer, as I usualy bring my laptop. But if you have a laptop with wireless connection, you can go on line. Otherwise there is an internetplace just across the street) CD/radio player, bathroom incl. bath & shower, an old wooden floor and a lot of 'old wooden farmers-furniture'.

There is one master bedroom with a double 160/200 bed and guest bedroom with 2 one pers. mattresses but can be a double bed ( (please note that this room is small) There's also a babybed available. We have a nice balcony overlooking a big green garden, where you can sit having breakfast or diner, and a small balcony on the frontside where there is sun later in the afternoon.

The apartment is on the third (and forth) floor. Please note that there is no elevator. The apartment itself has a very warm & good feeling.

We live above my parents, so in case of emergency one can contact them. (when they are around, as they do travel a lot themselves...)

My sister lives below me, and in some cases we can exchange the two houses together, see: https://www.homeforexchange.com/listing/netherlands/amsterdam-west-spacious-apartment-in-a-great-area-a-old-west

Property features

11 Reviews

Who we are

  1. My name is Ylva, I'm 51 years, half Swedish/half Dutch, I work as a teacher, and I'm a distiller of eau de vie. Sometimes as a photographer.

    And I share this page with my sister is Eva, she lives in the apartment below, is a doctor in emergency medicine. See: https://www.homeforexchange.com/listing/netherlands/amsterdam-west-spacious-apartment-in-a-great-area-a-old-west

    We are open for all options so; suprise us! We love to go for walks in nature, but also like to see other cities/places, we like art & museums, photography, music, enjoy a good meal with a nice wine together with friends; basically we enjoy life a lot.

    We think this is really an ideal way to see other places. Being in a friendly house, where one can nicely be inside when it's raining or just to relax, being able to buy things on the market and cook ourself, is so much nicer then a holiday in a small hotelroom. The trust we also find heartwarming, so nice that you can exchange your house with people you've never met before and still feel it's totally o.k. Recieving the sms; we arrived! Or arriving somewhere new, digging a key from the third plant in a courtyard, opening the door... trilling... Some people we did meet and we're still in contact with some of them.

    We will of course, take very well care of your home. (references from other exchanges is not a problem, you can also read some Testimonials on H4E) We leave a big map with all sorts of information; about the house, about the neighbourhood, where to go, things to do, how to get there, maps, and guides on Amsterdam.

    We've exchanged nearly 60 times by now (Barcelona, Paris, Avignon, Montpellier, Antwerp, London, Berlin, Kopenhagen, Champagne, Limoge, West Cork Ireland, Dublin, North of England, Toscane, Pyrenees, Malaga, and many different places within Holland) and each time it has been heartwarming and a great succes for both sides. We even connected people who we've exchanged with...

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our house is júst outside the official old centre but therefore even more central, because Amsterdam has many nice different neighbourhoods. It's in the old West part, one of the most wanted area's in the city ;)

It's on a canal 5 minutes walking distance from the old centre (= Jordaan) of the city, the 4 famous canals (Prinsengracht, Keizersgracht, Herengracht, Singel) Anne Frankhouse (10 minutes walk).

The Vondelpark and Westerpark (two nice big cityparks of Amsterdam) are about a 15 minutes walk/5 min. by bike, the Museumplein (museum-square) is about 15 minutes walk (van Goghmuseum, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum) The Leidseplein as well only 15 minutes walk (Milkyway, Paradiso) and all easily accessible by public transport. There are lots of nice shops, cafe's and restaurants in our and in the old part of town. Cinema's and theaters, operahouse, galleries, ... all nearby. Easy to get a canal tour there.

Many nice bars and restaurant around the corner, but quit where the house is ;) Just 5 minutes walk from here you'll find De Hallen, a very nice and beautiful place with bars, restaurants, outside terraces, cinema, indoor markets, http://dehallen-amsterdam.nl/en/tenants/local-goods-saturday-market/ Another outdoor saturday-biological foodmarket- and a mondaymorning fleemarket and an everyday market within walking distance. The city of Amsterdam is not as big as London or Paris, it's easy to walk around in, and (Amsterdam has no hills...) most people cycle around on bikes. (bike rental 1 minute from here, 6 euro a day) But if you still prefer trams; most connections stop here within walkingdistance.

You can also take a tram to the Central Station (15 minutes) and take any bus or train from there if you like to visit other parts of Holland (typical old Dutch villages like Marken, Monickendam or Volendam, see pictures, about half an hour by bus)

We have a very nice citybeach where in the summer you can swim and in the winter sit at the big fireplace, with good lifebands, but also classical music on sunday's, unfortunaly the site is in Dutch but you can get an idea when you klick on 'photos': www.blijburg.nl

Other exchanges that may interest you