Cosy family house with garden - playgrounds in front

Cosy family house with garden - playgrounds in front

Frank

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

October 2005


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

We love our cosy downstairs apartment in Amsterdam-West, so we'd like to share it! It was built in 1938, and still has many of the beautiful original features (like leaded glass doors and in-built cupboards). We have a children's bedroom for our two kids, a parents' bedroom, a study (with internet & printer) and a living room (with stereo & digital TV), and a small kitchen, all connected by the central hallway. Wooden floors everywhere, nice feel and easy to clean! Our bathroom has a washing machine, a sink and a bath/shower with loads of kids toys. Actually, by now there are many kids toys in almost all rooms! The separate toilet is wallpapered with geographic maps, including the door. There's an easy-to-use central heating system in every room (needed September-May) We have a nice garden with an old birch, hortensia bushes and other plants. From the parent's bedroom, the kitchen and the study there are direct doors onto the terrace with table/chairs, which obviously connects to the garden. There is a sandpit, an inflatable kids bath and a waterhose. And a small shed for tools and storage. We have two city bicycles each with two kids seats, and one race/touring bike.
It's a perfect house for a couple or a small family to explore Amsterdam (10 minutes cycling to city centre) and its beautiful surroundings.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We're Anne (33), Frank (35), Ties (boy, 3) and Jesse (girl, 1), and after having happily lived for years in communal houses, we've bought this appartment in July 2005. We both work 4 days a week in the environmental movement on issues of globalisation and energy. Our children (of course the best in the world!) go to daycare three days a week, and both enjoy their time there as well as with us.
    Anne is a fervent reader, and one wall in the living room is covered with books (in Dutch, English and Spanish). Frank is an avid music-lover, and another wall in the room is covered with CDs, tapes and records. Ties is Winnie-the-Pooh and Sesamestreet fan, so there goes another wall. Finally, Jesse likes to eat, so we have a kitchen. We like to go out a lot, both in town, country and abroad (Mexico 2004) as a family, as well as individually or in all possible combinations (apart from Ties & Jesse by themselves...). Finally, we're relatively un-demanding in a materialistic sense, and enjoy life and love everyday.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We've lived in Amsterdam for 10 years, and it keeps getting better. We still discover new nice places to go, things to do, etc. Our area is called 'Bos & Lommer' (which means 'Wood & Shadow'). It's a nice living area just outside the busy city centre. Right in front of our house there is a football playing field, a large children's playing field and kiddy farm (goats, rabbits, etc). There is a park across a pedestrian bridge over a small canal. We don't own a car, since cycling (and public transport) is much easier, faster, cheaper, environmentally friendlier and nicer in Amsterdam (and in most places in the Netherlands actually). Even with kids! We take our two (1 and 3 years old) everywhere by bike. Bus and tram stops are in a main (shopping) road at 100 m from our house. Here you find all sorts of shops, market, library, post office, local bakeries and culturally varied groceries. Still, you can park your car in front of our house (but you'll have to pay 12 euro per day (except Sunday)). There are cafes and a recently opened cultural restaurant with theater and great lunch stuff!
At 5 minutes cycling is the Westerpark, a larger (by Dutch standards) park with theater, cinema, swim/puddle water, a neighborhood farm that serves cheap organic meals twice a week.
At 10 minutes cycling or public transport, there is a main train station (Sloterdijk), with direct connections to many places (including 15 times an hour to CentralStation). The famous canal area is at 10min cycling.

Other exchanges that may interest you