Modern semi-detached family home, near beaches and Amsterdam, in historical Alkm

Modern semi-detached family home, near beaches and Amsterdam, in historical Alkm

Gerda

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

February 2006


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our home is a newly built semidetached house with al modern cons. Large living room with wooden floors with a very clean and modern, though not sterile look. Comfortable big couches in sitting area. Modern, spacious kitchen. The sliding doors give access to our lovely garden with terrace and a small grassy area. Three bedrooms, two with double beds, one smaller room with a single bed an a nice big study (computer and a second television) that has another very comfortable couch/bed. Bathroom with shower and tub. Big garage with extra fridge freezer and plenty of room for our four bicyles you of course are free to use! Car sits in the driveway, it's old but comfortable and is there if you need it. Our house is very clean but we're not fussy, can't be with two teenagers in the house! So children are welcome. We do not smoke and do not allow smoking in the house either.

Property features

Who we are

  1. My name is Gerda and I am Dutch, married to Colm, who is Irish. We have two children, a boy and a girl, 15 and 17 years old. Originally we were both teachers, but Colm now works in IT and I train professionals in a hospital. We love walking and reading; we used to have great walking holidays, but the children are not too interested. Our last holidays have been mainly to Ireland, to Spain (the Canaries) and France. Our son is very much into surfing and he did a course in Fuerteventura. Our daughter is also quite athletic (she's a good dancer), but she mainly likes to go out with friends and go shopping. They both have not (yet?) discovered the joy of reading. The last few years we have been quite busy over the summers and our holidays were not very long. This year we would like to spend time together again, at least for four weeks, and do things that we all enjoy: go sightseeing, spending time in differend places, maybe go to the beach, but mainly, relax as a family. We are all interested in seeing new places and meeting people. We love nature and wildlife, but we can also see ourselves spending time in new cities, riding on buses and exploring new neighborhoods, new foods, different people and habits.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live in a new house between the centre of Alkmaar and a small village and are surrounded by small canals and a small lake. The houses are all new and modern. It's very quiet as we live in a 'cul-de-sac' where all the neighbors know each other and keep an eye on each others house when they are away. It's mostly families, some with small children, others with teenagers or grown up children. We are only ten minutes by bike from the centre of lovely Alkmaar, with its historical houses, the markets and a small town atmosphere. Lots of restaurants, cafes, shops, museums, etc. We're five minutes away from the main railway that brings you into Amsterdam in 40 minutes, Leiden and The Hague in under 60 minutes. The trains leave every 30 minutes. We're also just half an hour by bike from the most beautiful dunes and beaches in Holland: Bergen, Egmond, Schoorl. Biking is the best way to get about: there is a great system of extensive bicyclepaths in the area. They allow you to go to places you can't reach by car.

Other exchanges that may interest you