Charming house in the heart of Rome

Charming house in the heart of Rome

Barbara

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

January 2017


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

1 Bedrooms
Sleeps 2
1 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

A duplex house with a beautiful terrace viewing Basilica di San Paolo, the most important Basilica after San Pietro obviously.
On the ground floor: entrance, master bedroom with a king size bed, bathroom + wc
on the first floor: large living room with a sofa bed for 2 people, kitchen
on the second floor the large terrace with dining table in the shade of a pergola and corner couches to have a drink.
5 minutes walking from Metro Station Ostiense and right in front of several bus stop.
15 minutes walking from Circo Massimo.

Property features

Who we are

  1. My husband and I are great nature lovers. Year-round, we live just outside Rome in a house in a protected forest. Above all of mother nature’s many offerings, however, we love most the sea. When we sold our summer house in Sardinia, we went searching for an alternative in the Salento, which is easier to reach from Rome than Sardinia is. We really wanted a summer place we could get to as frequently as possible without a ferry or flight.
    The first time we visited the property, and after climbing up the 70 steps on a clear May day, we were bewitched by the infinite sea views peppered with islands and far off shores, Castro, Otranto and far beyond the snowy peaks of mountains in Albania, and Fano, the first Greek island one reaches along this stretch of coast.
    We fell in love with that sense of bliss and space, taking in the long sea views from under the big oak in front of the house that protected us from the early summer sun.
    Down below us, we could see the crystal blue waters lapping the coast, where we would take our first dip.
    At that time, the house was not as it is now. We have completely restructured with the help of an architect, choosing to use local materials deployed by the best artisans (stone workers, etc).
    My husband is a former professional tennis player and continues to work in the sector. He has travelled and continues to travel all over the world to matches, and most of the time, I travel with him. We have two grown daughters and two young grandsons. We would like to visit new places with them, and we are drawn most to natural areas. But we are pretty tired of living out of suitcases in hotels. Therefore, we would like to exchange our house in Puglia with those here, who will take care of our lovely home with the same respect with which we will treat yours.

    Mio marito ed io siamo grandi amanti del verde e della natura, viviamo in una casa nel bosco a pochi chilometri da Roma ma sopra ad ogni altra cosa amiamo il mare. Quando abbiamo venduto la nostra casa in Sardegna siamo venuti a cercare un'alternativa nel Salento, più facile da raggiungere, volendo godercela il più spesso possibile. Dopo aver salito i 70 gradini in una giornata limpida di maggio siamo rimasti incantati dal mare infinito che avevamo davanti: Castro, Otranto e perfino le cime innevate dei monti dell'Albania e Fanò, la prima delle isole greche che si incontra attraversando il mare. Ci siamo innamorati di quell'emozione e di quella grande quercia che ci riparava dal sole già caldo nel mese di maggio. Sotto di noi potevamo vedere le calette di acqua cristallina dove avremmo fatto i primi bagni.. La casa non era com'è adesso, l'abbiamo completamente ristrutturata con un'amica architetto scegliendo materiali locali ed avvalendoci dei migliori artigiani.
    Mio marito è un ex giocatore prefessionista di tennis e ancora lavora nel mondo del tennis, ha girato e gira tutto il mondo e io vado quasi sempre con lui. Abbiamo due figlie e due nipotini piccoli e vorremmo visitare con loro posti nuovi, ci attira principalmente la natura, ma siamo stufi di vivere in albergo. Per questo motivo abbiamo pensato di scambiare la nostra casa con persone che abbiano lo stesso rispetto che noi avremo con la loro.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Museums, restaurants,shops, clubs,discos....and Rome

Other exchanges that may interest you