Georgian House - Ranelagh, Dublin City

Georgian House - Ranelagh, Dublin City

Dolores

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

July 2013


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
3 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

The other dates listed below are when our home would be free for home exchange, as school holidays....
Christmas holidays (~ 28th Dec and first week in Jan)
School mid-term break mid-February
Easter Break - March/April)
Summer holidays - end June to end August
As we would like to bring our dog with us when we exchange, and that is why, we have limited our exchange to homes within Ireland and where we can take our car, Scotland, Wales, Isle of Man and England.

Our charming Georgian home is in the heart of Ranelagh, Dublin 6, with 3 beds, kitchen, sitting room and dining room, three separate toilets/bathroom, tranquil and private, small walled back garden and a front garden with off-street parking.

We are 2km from Dublin City Centre, including St. Stephen’s Green, O'Connell Street and Trinity College Dublin (10mins by bus or 20mins walk) and we are within 1 km of Donnybrook, Ballsbridge and Rathmines.

Our home is a beautifully restored Georgian house, with gas central heating, high speed internet, electric showers, a new integrated security, carbon monoxide, fire alarm, etc. The house is terraced and is over three floors.
At hall door level the accommodation comprises a sitting room with open fire place, (smokeless coal supplied) and in this room is TV (recordable UTV cable TV), DVD player and Wii.
The dining room has a large table (sits eight) and there are the original restored French doors separating these rooms.
The hallway leads to the kitchen at the back of the house which leads to the back garden. The kitchen is small (kitchen table where 4 can eat easily). The kitchen includes blue tiled work surfaces, sink, microwave, integrated dishwasher, fridge, electric oven and four ring gas hob.

Going upstairs, on the return, is the bathroom with bath and shower, sink WC (timer immersion), and a separate utility room with a toilet and washing machine and dryer.
Then on the next floor are two bedrooms- one with a double bed (queen size).The second bedroom is currently used as an office. There is a separate small room, currently used as a home office.
Going upstairs again, on the return is a store room and a shower room with electric Triton shower, and toilet.
At the top of the house is one large double bedroom with a king size double bed and French doors that over look the back garden.

There is an enclosed, small, private, 15 meter (45 feet) back garden, east facing and to the front is a 30 meter (90 foot) long front west-facing garden, half in lawn, half gravel with space for two cars.

We can email and make arrangements in English and German, as we are both are fluent in German, having lived in Germany for many years.

This cosy and charming home is located in the heart of Ranelagh and Donnybrook with extensive amenities from shops, restaurants, and excellent public transport, including Luas tram (Green line: Ranelagh stop) and bus service (Bus: 11, 11A,44, 48A just outside the house) and in nearby Donnybrook (5 mins walk) are the following Bus routes: 13B, 18, 86, 140, 39, 39A, and which giving direct access to Dublin City centre, Dundrum Shopping Centre and Sandyford Industrial Estate.

Although we live in Dublin, in the heart of Ranelagh and Donnybrook and close to the centre, the house is quiet as we are 30metres back off of Sandford Road.
Our car is a Nissan Megane Estate 2004 1.5 liter. We have three bicycles, which you are welcome to use, two for adults, one suitable for a 7 - 13 year old.

We have a loveable, cuddly Newfoundland dog (born April 2010). He is large (65 kg) and we have brought him with us to many hotels and B&Bs in Ireland that allow dogs. He is very well trained. In our home, he is only allowed on the ground floor and front and back gardens, he is not allowed upstairs. In your home, we would be happy if he could be in one room, such as your kitchen, and we would guarantee to not allow him in the rest of your house. As we would like to bring our dog with us when we exchange, and that is why, we have limited our exchange to homes within Ireland and where we can take our car, Scotland, Wales, Isle of Man and England.

The basement of the property has a separate entrance, separate door, and there is no access between the basement and the upper house. The basement is let out on a long term agreement with the same tenant. The basement has a separate gated entrance and has been sound-proofed. There is no access between the basement and the upper house and no connection from the basement to the back garden.

Property features

Who we are

  1. We are a married couple with one daughter (born 2005), we love to walk and hike a lot, especially by the sea! and with our Newfoundland dog!
    We all really enjoy travelling when we are able to get away.
    We both have lived and worked in England (2 years), USA (3 years), Germany (8 years) and we have travelled previously all over Europa and to the USA, China, Canada, Thailand, Australia, Japan, etc. We came back to Dublin in 2003.
    We have not done a home exchange before but are keen to try what sounds a great way to see another country as a resident - and allow someone to see ours. We are both professionals (University Professor (D) and Data Analyst/Bioinformatician (J)).
    One of us (D - female) travels to Brussels (~ 6 times a year) and would also be happy to do room exchange in Brussels for a room in our house in Dublin, if that was of interest. We enjoy hiking, walking, being near the sea, are involved in scouting, appreciate georgian architecture and have been involved in restoring old houses! and love visiting art museums, history museums, and the theatre.
    We can email and make arrangements in English and German, as we are both are fluent in German, having lived in Germany for many years.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our home is between Ranelagh (D6) and Donnybrook (D4) villages in Dublin, which is the heart of the Dublin city with over 40 fine restaurants to choose from, all within ten minutes walk of our house.
http://www.menupages.ie/dublin/south_dublin/ranelagh
We are also very close (2km) to the city centre and all its attractions, Trinity College Dublin, St. Stpehen's Green and all the shops, cinemas, restaurants, night life of Grafton Street and Temple Bar, this is 10mins by bus/taxi or 20mins walk to the city centre.
http://www.visitdublin.com/
We are also 1.5 km to the east from the sea and Sandymount Beach and all its sea side attraction and beautiful walks and amenities. From there you can get the DART train to the sea side towns of Howth in the North or Dun Laoighre, Dalkey or Bray in the south, with their sailing, fishing and sporting activities.
There is hiking and outdoor activities in south Dublin hills and in Wicklow (15km to the south), with its many mountains, it is an ideal location for all outdoor activities, such as hiking, sailing, fishing, etc
Some useful web pages
http://www.menupages.ie/dublin/south_dublin/ranelagh
http://www.visitdublin.com/
http://wikitravel.org/en/Dublin

Other exchanges that may interest you