City home and country cottage available on one exchange!

City home and country cottage available on one exchange!

Julie

Last logged in

Over a month

First joined

October 2005


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

3 Bedrooms
Sleeps 6
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Get a taste for cottage country and city life in one trip!

Come stay at our beautiful, lake-side cottage an hour outside Ottawa. On the same trip, you can also stay at our downtown, newly renovated, home. In both homes, we have a completely equipped kitchen, dining room, living room, 3 bedrooms.

Our city house has a large, finished basement with recreation room and a laundry room with brand new washer and dryer. Our spacious, upstairs bathroom offers a big jacuzzi bathtub.

Both homes have toys and equipment for young children. We have private yards with gardens, and BBQs.

The cottage is just steps from the lake. It's a very large, fresh water lake with great fishing and swimming right off our dock. We have bikes, a kayak and a canoe available for your use.

Our city home is on a quiet street...Directly across from our house is a large park with a children's pool and activities.

Our home is just footsteps from the beautiful and historic Rideau canal...and kilometres of biking/roller blading/running/walking paths. The canal offers boat tours from early spring until late fall, and ice skating from January until early March.

Our downtown Ottawa home is just 2 hours from Montreal and 4.5 hours from Toronto. (by car or train) The cottage is on Otty Lake (near Perth Ontario), exactly one drive hour from our home.

Property features

Who we are

  1. My name is Julie. I'm a reporter (TV/radio) for the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. My husband, Peter works for Hewlett Packard. We have two young children, Nathaniel (2005) and Maggie (2007).

    We both love the outdoors and sports such as soccer, hockey, hiking, biking, running, swimming. Our home/neighbourhood offers a nice mix of the urban conveniences, but lots of open, green space to spend time outdoors with our kids.

    We've done a lot of travelling (Europe, Asia, New Zealand, USA) together over the years.

    We had a very successful house exchange to France in March 2006 and look forward to many more.

    Given we have two homes, we are open to non-simultaneous exchanges.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

Our home is in an old, historic, upscale Ottawa neighbourhood called the Glebe. It's an urban neighbourhood with a village feel. We're just a couple blocks (very short walk) from fine restaurants, bakery, clothing stores, food shops, bank, groceries. Ottawa's Junior A hockey arena is one short block away.

Our home is a 25 minute walk (8 minute bike ride!) from Canada's Parliament Buildings, National museums, the National Art Gallery, the National Art's Centre (ballet, theatre), and large shopping malls (just to name a few of the many attractions.)

It's a short drive (20 minutes) to Quebec and Gatineau (National) Park, where there is superb hiking, mountain biking, downhill ski hills and cross-country skiing (depending on the time of year.)

In May, Ottawa hosts its internationally renowned Tulip Festival...which features thousands of beautiful tulips gardens.

For the first 3 weeks in February Ottawa's Rideau Canal is the venue for the city's winter festival, called "Winterlude". The festival includes ice and snow carving contests, food festivals, musical entertainment, and of course, skating on the canal.

Other exchanges that may interest you