House with swimming pool and garden, very central!

House with swimming pool and garden, very central!

Isabelle

Last logged in

This week

First joined

January 2006

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

7 Bedrooms
Sleeps 12
3 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

All our exchanges are settles for 2019... except for San Francisco in the fall!
So we won't be able to accept any more, simultaneous or not, sorry!

No simultaneous swap with France during any summer.
I usually go to France during the winter (november-december) or spring (april).

Nice cottage (duplex + in-law apt) with garden in this central neighborhood right next to Plateau Mont-Royal.
It's like being in the countryside right here in town!
Air conditioning !

Close from the festivals, from any theater and restaurants, with a subway station very close... and still you can enjoy the swimming pool and cool garden during the summer.

Our house is a modular concept: it can be used as a whole with 2 main kitchens + 2 living-rooms.
Or separately: each floor can function as an independant apartment.

It leaves lots of options for the swaps: 1 floor, or 2 or 3... Ask me if you get mixed up.

This 2 storey house (+ in-law apt in the half-basement) has 6 bedrooms on 3 floors altogether....
It can welcome up to 8 or 10 people if we swap simultaneously AND if the 3 of us travel together.

Un-simultaneous swaps:
It's like having our second home on the same property.
If we swap the duplex only and not the whole 3 floors, pictures stop when you see the BANJO.
If we swap the top unit, pictures start after the BANJO.

Use of garden and swimming pool possible to, if we swap the top floor.

Completely renovated and improved summer 2015.
Total is over 2400 sqf (environ 220 m2) if simultaneous.
Duplex unit is about 1700 sqf.

DUPLEX = 1st floor + in-law floor (below the 1st floor).

1st floor apt has a big patio and an embedded 12" above-ground swimming pool.
4 bedrooms altogether (sleeps 7): queen size bed / double bed on ground floor / single bed / double bed

TOP FLOOR (2nd floor) apartment has a nice patio over the garden/pool and a large balcony on the street side.
2 bedrooms (sleeps 4): queen size bed / trundle beds (2 singles).

-----------------
The whole house could welcome 2 families that could each have their own apartment (simultaneous swaps only in this case).

Each floor has lots of sun, of charm, wooden floor, 2 patio doors, 2 balconies on the street.

wifi, TV with internet on top floor unit.

Property features

Who we are

  1. I'm a screenwriter (cartoons and TV series) and a translator in the dubbing business. I can work from anywhere and sometimes travel on my own with my computer. Juts tempt me, I might work from your place for a while!

    Jean-michel is a computer programmer.
    Each of us have 2 kids, grown-ups, living their own lives.

    We like to travel to unusual places, meet people. We like sport and culture... and sometimes going where nobody would go.

    I love the bicycle, the kayak, canoe, and also skiing, hiking, going to a spa out in the woods. Love museums and jazz.

    Jean-michel loves skiing, sailing, tennis, riding bikes, chess, going to the movies. He likes politics and worldwide news, cities with history. And he has a passion for old rusty cars... the one like Columbo's :-)

    We also love to go to quiet, nature oriented remote places when we're not traveling to big cities like NY of SF.

    So if you live in the middle of nowhere, don't hesitate to contact me, I'll probably love it.

    I don't have pets, but I can take care of cats, or fishes, this kind of easy going pets. We once took care of 2 horses, but just for the fun!
    I'm not too much into dogs though (I'm allergic to their hair, mostly if they're around), I would prefer if the dog is taken care of.

    We are experienced home exchangers, I started home exchanging 20 years ago: several times a year to north America, Europe, the Caribean. I probably did more than 30 or 40 swaps altogether, week-ends and vacation!

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We just left the Plateau to move to Rosemont, a central and family oriented neighborhood of Montreal close to the typical parc Molson and next to the trendy Plateau Mont-Royal.
Plateau is only... 3 blocks away though.

Here you'll get the bread, the trendy shops, nice coffee shops and restaurant, french typical bakeries, some organic store, great ice creams, a movie theater... all at easy walking distance.
This is a part of France right here at my door!
And New York just a little bit further: with the subway, you have access to many jazz clubs and fancy downtown bars.

Both worlds all-in-one, the old Europe and the fancy America, here at the same spot: this is Montreal!

Our house is in a quiet tree ligned street of a french neighborhood.
Closest subway station is Iberville (blue lign): 8 to 10 minuts walk.

SMALL TRIPS (2 or 3 days):

- Ottawa (the Capital), with nice museums and a 8 km long skating ring during the winter.
- New York is 7 hours drive away. Tempted for NY eve?
- Vermount or NY States (in the USA) has great ski resorts. Did you know that Lake Placid is just 2 hours drive from my door?
- the Adirondacks Mountains in Vermount (1 to 2 hours drive) for hiking, skiing and lac Champlain if you like kayaking, the canoe or even sailing. The lake is 100 km long.
- Québec city (2h30 drive) and a great ski resort overlooking the icy river Saint-Laurent in winter
- Niagara falls are a bit far (7h drive) : I'm not a big fan but it's well-known so I mention it.
- whale watching at Les bergeronnes (near Tadoussac): you don't need to take a boat, you can watch and hear them right on the banks.

Best restaurants
This is Montreal, lots of these! My favourite 5 mn walk from here: "Détour Bistrot"!
Nightlife
jazz club on saint-Denis (Dieze Onze) and many more, movie theater near Parc Molson and many more...
Favourite cafés
Along Parc Molson: "Café Mucho Gusto" and "Alimentation maison"
Where to go shopping
on saint-Denis, on Mont-Royal or downtown
Your area's cultural and historical landmarks
This is Montreal, you have lots of these!
Local walks
Parc Beaubien, Parc Olympique (botanical garden)
Places you love to exercise
Park Mont-Royal
Top day trips
Lake Champlain (week-end in Vermount), Lake Placid (ski in winter), Oguinquit (week-end in Maine on the ocean), Ottawa, Québec city... Tadoussac (and the whales)

Other exchanges that may interest you