Country and coast

Country and coast

1 Review

Paul

Last logged in

This month

First joined

March 2006

  • This is a super-member. They're experienced home exchangers or the fastest responders.


Join free today to request an exchange

Begin your two-week free trial to contact members

Start a discussion

Begin a conversation with this member to organise an exchange

Propose exchange dates (optional)


Write a personal message

Not available

Not available

Added to shortlist

This home is in your shortlist. To access your shortlist click the icon in the navigation

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

4 Bedrooms
Sleeps 4
2 Bathrooms
Translate this listing into your language

Our home

Our home is located in a picturesque dairy farming region of NSW yet is also just 6 minutes' drive from the coast at Seven Mile Beach National Park. It's a comfortable, ranch style house set on one acre of garden, accessed via a small country road and surrounded by a landscape of fields and hills with views to the escarpment beyond.

Built in 2007, it has ducted, reverse-cycle air conditioning and heating as well as ceiling fans and a slow combustion fireplace, so it is very comfortable in winter or summer. There are two decks for outdoor living; one is an extension of the veranda at the front and the other is a large covered area at the back. To sit on the front veranda with drink in hand, watching the sun go down over the escarpment in the distance, is nothing short of idyllic.

Our house will comfortably accommodate two couples or a family of four. It comprises a master bedroom, a guest bedroom and two studies, one of which is also a second lounge area with sliding doors to the front deck.
There is, of course, a living room, a dining room, a large kitchen, two bathrooms and a separate laundry.

A car is essential here and we are happy to offer our late model station wagon, air conditioned with auto transmission, as part of the exchange. There are also two mountain bikes and four surfboards to use. If tennis is one of your pastimes there are public courts available at Berry and Shoalhaven Heads .

Property features

1 Review

Who we are

  1. There are just two of us; Paul, 70, a retired architect and development manager and Nicky, 63, formerly a marketing manager and more recently a freelance writer. We are non-smokers, very active and go to the beach almost every morning. Paul enjoys surfing, motor sport, playing guitar and tennis.
    Nicky loves bushwalking with a local club and creative writing. Our more leisurely pursuits include reading, art, movies, music and dining out.
    To date we have done eleven very enjoyable exchanges, five overseas and six within Australia. We take pride in our home and treat our exchange homes with the same meticulous care. While we're away our dog, Alfie, usually goes off to stay with some friends of ours (and his), although three exchangers have opted to have his company whilst here!

    If you inquire, we will always respond. Our next opportunity to exchange overseas would probably be as from about August 2016 but an exchange within Australia could be sooner.

Our availability

White
Open to offers
Green
Available
Red
Not Available

Where is it?

Your neighbourhood

We live on the south coast of NSW, 150 km (about 2 hours drive) from Sydney. The area is known as the Shoalhaven, (see www.southcoast.com.au/shoalhaven/) - a coastal region with beautiful beaches, bush and country landscapes, rugged highlands and friendly people. It is a popular holiday area.

The village of Berry is just 4.5 kilometres away - minutes by car and only a little longer by bike. Berry is a favourite weekend destination for folk from Sydney and has an excellent choice of interesting shops, cafes and restaurants.

There are four golf courses nearby, all within 20 minutes drive.
The village of Shoalhaven Heads is 10 kilometres down the road. As well as having a beach, it is located beside the Shoalhaven River, a beautiful estuary for swimming, fishing and walking along the shore watching the bird life.

Nowra, a town of 32,000 people, is just 20 minutes drive south along the Princes Highway beyond Berry. It has all the services and facilities you might want, including a shopping mall, banks, ATM's, library, a modern entertainment centre, theatre, cinema, restaurants, hospital - all we ever need day to day.

Our home may be reached by train from the International Terminal station at Sydney Airport, changing trains at Kiama for the last two stops to Berry, then a short cab ride from Berry station to our home just outside the village. Alternatively, if timing is right we can pick up exchangers from Kiama station, 20 minutes away.

The nearest large city is Wollongong, about 50 minutes drive north. It is the urban centre of the Illawarra area, with theatres, galleries, many restaurants and shopping malls. It also has miles of very scenic coastline, bike paths, beaches and parks.

ITINERARY FOR EXCHANGERS.
If you're wondering what there is to do when you exchange to NSW, just tell us how much time you would like to spend and what kind of things interest you. We would be happy to put together several suggested day trips or longer ones. This exchange can be as relaxed or as busy as you would like! We could even do this for you before you make a final decision to exchange.

Other exchanges that may interest you